Instructors

Viera Proulx (Sec. 1) Martin Schedlbauer (Sec. 2)
Office: 322 WVH Office: 310A WVH
Email: vkp@ccs.neu.edu Email: m.schedlbauer@neu.edu
Office hrs: TBD Office hrs: TBD
& by appt & by appt
 
Karl Lieberherr (Sec. 3) Jessica Schmidt (Sec. 4 & 5)
Office: 308A WVH Office: 314 WVH
Email: lieber@ccs.neu.edu Email: jschmidt@ccs.neu.edu
Office hrs: TBD Office hrs: Tuesday/Friday 12:30-1:25pm or by appointment
 
Hooman Javaheri (Sec. 6)
Office: 330 WVH
Email: hooman@ccs.neu.edu
Office hrs: Wednesday and Thursdays 1:00-2:30pm
 


Lab Assistants

All lab assistant office hours will take place in WVH 102

Le Nguyen Christopher Fody
nguyen.thaiq@husky.neu.edu fody.c@husky.neu.edu
Office Hours: Thursday 12:00pm-2:00pm Office Hours: Tuesday/Thursday 12:00pm-2:00pm
 
Morgan Waddington Lam Truong
waddington.m@husky.neu.edu truong.l@husky.neu.edu
Office Hours: Wednesday 9:00am-11:00am Office Hours: Friday 11:30am-1:30pm
 
Apurva Narasimhan Rohan Joshi
narasimhan.a@husky.neu.edu joshiroh@ccs.neu.edu
Office Hours: Friday 2:00pm-4.00pm Office Hours: Monday 3:00pm-5:00pm
 




Course Objectives

This web site supports CS1100 (Computer Science and its Applications) at Northeastern University, an introductory course in concepts in computer science and their applications using Microsoft Excel and Access. The course focuses on data: how data may be organized, how useful information may be extracted from data, and how summary information may be calculated. Furthermore, the courses introduces methodical and analytical problem solving techniques including divide-and-conquer and hierarchical decomposition.
You will learn how to do simple but very effective computations using Microsoft Excel and Access. While a single course cannot cover all aspects of these software tools, you will nevertheless learn important highlights.

Learning Objectives

Upon completion of this course, students will know how to:
  • conceptualize and solve problems involving the analysis of data
  • design relational databases and formulate queries in Access
  • calculate elementary statistics and present data analyses in Excel
  • build charts and graphs in Excel
  • construct reports in Access